Our Trustees and Management

The Trustees of CISWO 2014 (Registered Charity Number 1160157 and Company Number 09113084) comprise 12 individuals of whom 4 are nominated by the Mining Unions and 8 are selected by virtue of the skills and/or experience which they can bring to the governance of a large diverse national charity.
The current Trustees are:

Arch Deacon Bob Cooper (Chair)
A former professional rugby league player whose ministry is based in Pontefract and who has an extensive involvement in the governance of not for profit organisations.

Colin Ambler (Vice-Chair)
An HR specialist within the mining industry, is a trustee of several charities and was a non-executive director of the Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.

Patrick Carragher
The retired General Secretary of the British Association of Colliery Management.

Terry Fox
President of the National Association of Colliery Overmen, Deputies and Shotfirers and who is also a Sheffield City Councillor.

Jon Hattersley
A retired Fund Manager with experience in the not for profit sector who chairs the Organisation’s Finance and General Purposes Committee and Audit & Risk Committee.

John Humble
A qualified accountant and the former Chief Executive of the Durham Aged Miners’ Homes Association who also served as an executive member of the National Almshouses Association and upon the board of Age Concern (Durham).

Christine Kaye
A HR specialist who spent her career within the mining industry having worked for the British Coal Corporation, RJB Mining and UK Mining.

Carole Langrick
The Deputy Chief Executive of the North Durham and Darlington NHS Trust who commenced her career within the NHS as a nurse and who has a special interest in both health and social care within mining communities.

Gary Smith
Previously British Coal Group ER Manager and now HR Consultant and interim HR Director in the private, public and third sectors at home and abroad including health and social care sectors

Wayne Thomas
Vice-President of the National Union of Mineworkers, General Secretary of the NUM (South Wales Area), a trustee of a number of South Wales mining related charities, a Town Councillor and Trustee of the Coalfields Regeneration Trust.

Jeffrey Wood
General Secretary of the Union of Democratic Mineworkers and a trustee of several Nottingham based mining charities, who served as a trustee of the Industry Wide Mineworkers’ Pension Scheme.

Senior Management Team

The day to day management of the Charity is conducted by the Chief Executive, Nicola Didlock and Janine Wallage, the Director of Finance. They are assisted through a Senior Management Team. The SMT’s role is primarily to facilitate internal communication on a whole range of policy issues. Professional services are provided on investments through Rathbones and legal advice in England and Wales on charity matters is provided by Brabners, employment and property matters are dealt with by Irwin Mitchell and advice on Scottish property and charity matters is provided by Burness Paull. Audit services are provided by Grant Thornton. Other specialist services are contracted for on a needs basis.

Click here to find out about our History

Click here for latest Annual Report